PRESS RELEASE



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TELEVISION ACADEMY FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES FIRST GROUP OF CELEBRITY PRESENTERS FOR 40TH COLLEGE TELEVISION AWARDS

Gabi Butler, Kelly McCreary, Ryan Michelle Bathe, Drew and Jonathan Scott, and Shoshannah Stern Among Presenters Honoring the Best in Student-Produced Programs

Tickets Now on Sale for March 21 Event

(NoHo Arts District, Calif., March 6, 2020) – The Television Academy Foundation today announced the first group of celebrity presenters and ticket sale information for the 40th College Television Awards to be held on Saturday, March 21, 2020 (pending further developments surrounding the COVID-19 outbreak).

The College Television Awards honors achievement in student-produced programs and will feature stars from today's top television shows presenting awards to winners in eight categories. Celebrity presenters confirmed to date include Tichina Arnold (*The Neighborhood*), Gabi Butler (*Cheer*), Wilson Cruz (*Visible: Out on Television*), Richard Ellis (*I Am Not Okay With This*), Benito Martinez (*13 Reasons Why*), Kelly McCreary (*Grey's Anatomy*), Ryan Michelle Bathe (*First Wives Club*), Wyatt Oleff (*I Am Not Okay With This*), Dara Renee (*High School Musical: The Series*), Drew and Jonathan Scott (*Property Brothers*), Yeardley Smith (*The Simpsons*), Shoshannah Stern (*Grey's Anatomy*) and Jeanne Zelasko (FOX Sports).

"The College Television Awards recognizes the outstanding work of the next generation of content creators," said Madeline Di Nonno, chair of the Television Academy Foundation. "For 40 years the program has been instrumental in identifying and nurturing top young storytellers. Past nominees and winners are now working on programs such as *The Handmaid's Tale, Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan, The Simpsons, America's Got Talent, Grey's Anatomy* and *Empire*, among others. In keeping with the Foundation's mission of promoting inclusivity within the industry, we are proud to announce that this year's nominees are over 50% female." Judged by Television Academy members, criteria for the College Television Awards reflects industry standards of excellence, imagination and innovation across categories including comedy, drama, news and nonfiction series.

The College Television Awards will also include the presentation of the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship. Established in 2009, the scholarship awards a \$10,000 cash prize to a student program that best portrays disability topics and issues or helps emerging artists with a disability gain recognition. In addition, the Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Award will be presented during the show.

The Television Academy Foundation is continuing to monitor developments around the COVID-19 outbreak. For now, the 40th College Television Awards are still scheduled to be held on Saturday, March 21, in the Wolf Theatre at the Academy's Saban Media Center, 5220 Lankershim Blvd., North Hollywood, California. The evening's festivities will kick off with a red carpet from 5-6 p.m. followed by the awards ceremony from 6-7 p.m. with a post-show reception wrapping up the evening.

Tickets are on sale until March 13, 2020, at <u>TelevisionAcademy.com/RSVP-CTA</u>. General admission tickets are \$50 and \$25 for students with ID.

The 40th College Television Awards is supported by philanthropists and corporate partners including PEOPLE[®], the Loreen Arbus Foundation, Creative Artists Agency (CAA), the Johnny Carson Foundation, FilmLA, STARZ and Technicolor. Flights will be provided by United Airlines[®] for non-Los Angeles-based students to attend the summit and awards show.

About the Television Academy Foundation

Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs, such as <u>The Interviews</u>: An Oral History of Television Project, <u>College Television Awards</u> and <u>Student Internship Program</u>, the Foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the Foundation, please visit <u>TelevisionAcademy.com/Foundation</u>.

#

Media Contact: Jane Sparango breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy Foundation) jane@breakwhitelight.com 310-339-1214